Happiness to me is Spending Time with Family


My life might not be prefect, but anytime I am with my family, it do not need to be any more happier or prefect for me!

My life might not be prefect, but anytime I am with my family, it does not need to be any more happier or prefect for me!

I will be turning 54 years old in a few weeks. Yesterday I hosted my youngest daughter, Melissa’s first baby’s baby shower. That is where the above photo was taken. When I was a lot younger, thinner and not as wise I would have most likely been embarrassed of the photo for how unflattering it is of me. I am heavier now than I ever thought I would be. I don’t always take the time, like I use to blow dry my hair and get my make up on before I go out to our family events. The aging process, mixed in with a life of learning to deal is different illness and side effects of the medicines I need to take has taken its toll on me. Yet, somehow when I see the happiness on all of our faces, knowing that those who know me, and accept me for who I am , flaws and all, enjoy the time they share with me, as much as I enjoy spending with them … I don’t see the extra weight, the wrinkles, the gray hair … instead I see an aging grandmother of going on 18 grandchildren enjoying all the blessings of my family life.

It’s a shame that it takes the aging process before our vision of what really matters in life to become more clear. I cherish the moments I am blessed to share in the little and big events of my family. Yes, there are things about myself I still want to keep working to improve, but for now I jokingly say “I need to have a bigger lap to hold and cuddle all the grand-babies that keep blessing my life.” I know we don’t get everything we want, but I do know God does give us everything we need. My life is far from being prefect, but when I look at the above photo, I proudly and honestly say to myself,” I do not need to be any more happy than in the prefect moments of my life spending and sharing my heart and time with my family.”

Leave a Reply

