Danny and My 18 Grandchildren ~ 2014 ~


I love my family

I love my family

“Grand children are God’s way of compensating us for growing old”. ~Mary H. Waldrip

This coming Monday will be our oldest Grandson, Skylar’s 23rd Birthday (Happy Birthday Sky we love you). Today is a day I am reflecting back over my life as a child, a parent and as a grandparent. Over the last three weeks my husband Danny and I have had the pleasure of hanging out with most of our grandchildren at some point or another. Our grand daughter Ilana, who will be 9 years old in September, who lives in Maryland has been here visiting since Father’s Day, and what a joy it was. I did all in my power to pack in as much memory making stuff with her while she was here that I could, this since we don’t get to see her as often as the other grandchildren who live close by. We picked Cherries (25 pounds) and made cherry jam for her to take back as gifts for her family and friends on the East coast. We worked some on her scrapbook and we did some of her family history. You are never to young to learn how important family is in your life. She made it home safely today after going on her first time airplane ride going alone without an adult. It was a non stop flight, but a long 3 and half hour wait for her parents and grandparents until she was home. I really love it when they come, and I cry like a baby when the time comes for the “Good-byes”. I cannot express enough how much Grandpa and I love each and every one of our grandchildren even if we don’t get to see some of them as often. We are so proud of the individuals they each are growing into. Our oldest granddaughter Shalyse is getting married this coming March to a young man that our family loves and we are excited to welcome Tyler into our family. Our family is growing up so fast and I thank God everyday that we are blessed to be part of each of our grandchildren’s lives. We have grandson # 9 due on August 28th, and grand daughter #9 due on Oct 24th ( my oldest brother’s birthday). I just wanted to reflect and enjoy each and every moment that I have been blessed to spend with my grandchildren.

There’s nothing like having a grandchild to restore faith to heredity. ~Doug Larsen

The idea that no one is perfect is a view most commonly held by people with no grandchildren. ~Doug Larson

Grandparents are a family’s greatest treasure, the founders of a loving legacy, The greatest storytellers, the keepers of traditions that linger on in cherished memory. Grandparents are the family’s strong foundation. Their very special love sets them apart. Through happiness and sorrow, through their special love and caring, grandparents keep a family close at heart. ~author unknown

Surely, two of the most satisfying experiences in life must be those of being a grandchild or a grandparent. ~Donald A. Norberg

Grandparents are there to help the child get into mischief they haven’t thought of yet. ~Gene Perret

Grandparents are similar to a piece of string – handy to have around and easily wrapped around the fingers of their grandchildren. ~Author Unknown

Nobody can do for little children what grandparents do. Grandparents sort of sprinkle stardust over the lives of little children. ~Alex Haley

Because (grandparents) are usually free to love and guide and befriend the young without having to take daily responsibility for them, they can often reach out past pride and fear of failure and close the space between generations. ~Jimmy Cart

It’s funny what happens when you become a grandparent. You start to act all goofy and do things you never thought you’d do. It’s terrific. ~ Mike Krzyzewski

Grandparents, like heroes, are as necessary to a child’s growth as vitamins. ~Joyce Allston

Grandchildren: the only people who can get more out of you than the IRS. ~Gene Perret

The presence of a grandparent confirms that parents were, indeed, little once, too, and that people who are little can grow to be big, can become parents, and one day even have grandchildren of their own. So often we think of grandparents as belonging to the past; but in this important way, grandparents, for young children, belong to the future. ~Fred Rogers

Something magical happens when parents turns into grandparents. Their attitude changes from “money-doesn’t-grow-on-trees” to spending it like it does.? ~ Paul Linden

My grandkids believe I’m the oldest thing in the world. And after two or three hours with them, I believe it, too. ~Gene Perret

One thought on “Danny and My 18 Grandchildren ~ 2014 ~

  1. Grandparents and grandchildren get along so well because they have a common enemy. The quote is not mine but something I read and gave me a good laugh.

    One time when I was attending grandparents day at my grandchildren’s elementary school I heard some great quotes on grandparents. They had the children go up on stage a say something about grandparents. One little boy either in 2nd or 3rd grade got up and said, “grandparents are the ONLY people in the whole world that can overrule your parents”, the place exploded in laughter.

Leave a Reply

