You Never Know What Family Information will show up in the less liken places …


In doing my paternal family line of the “Danner” family I got back to my 6th great-grandfather, Michael Danner (1696 – 1782) and hit a block. In doing some research I notice that his name came up as Michael Danner, with his brother Jacob Danner; but every so often I found some legal documents when their names were Michael and Han Tanner. It was noted that Michael Danner was among the German Palatines aboard the John Goodman Ship when they migrated to American in 1727.

So,I did a Google search of “German Palatines” so I could better understand what they were and how it related to my “Danner” family. I found a load of information on that time period and what hardships my ancestors must have endured. It was during this research I discovered that Michael was the son of Ulrich Danner/Tanner and Chrystina Reitlickerin and their families were forced from their home land of Switzerland in all the wars and hardships that were in that part of the world at that time.

Then I read the below article that the end of shocked and delighted me…
“The Story of the Palatines:
Introduction
This presentation was given at the Annual General Meeting of the UELAC in June, 2006 by Joan Lucas UE to the branch Genealogists’ Workshop. The presentation was prepared by George Anderson UE and it covered information which he found over the years while researching the Palatines.
What is a Palatine? A Palatine is usually defined as someone who came from along the Rhine River in the Palatinate of South Western Germany. However this term can be a misnomer. Many inhabitants of the Palatinate came from elsewhere. For example, Huguenots (French Protestants) fled from France and Calvinists fled from the Netherlands to the Palatinate. Other families migrated from Switzerland to the area. They all became Palatines. This term was generally applied to all German Immigrants who arrived in America.
What was the Palatinate? The Palatinate consisted of two small regions in southern Germnay near the Rhine River. The Lower or Rhenish Palatinate which was also called the Pfalz was located in southwester German east of Luxembourg along both sides of the Middle Rhine River. The Pfalz included the present German State of Mainz, Treves, Lorraine, Alsace, Baden and Wurtemberg. Heidelberg was its capital. The name Pfalz” was derived from the Latin word “palatinus” which meant palace or castle. The Upper (Bavarian) Palatinate was located in northern Bavaria, on both sides of the Naab River as it flows south toward the Danube, and extended eastward to the Bohemian Forest. The Palatines were ruled by COunts who later became Electors in the 14th century. The boundaries of the Palatinate varied with the military successes and political fortunes of the Counts Palatine. TOday the Palatinate land west of the Rhine River is part of France. The rest of the Palatinate has been absorbed into other German States.
Origin of Palatine Name. The name, Palatine is derived from the title of the ruler of the Palatinate which means the Ruler of the Principality of the Palatine. The term Palatine itself goes back to Imperial Rome. The palace of the Caesars was situated on the Palatine Hill. The troops guarding the palace were also referred to as the “palatini”.
Why did the Palatines leave Germany? Different sources cite different reasons. Here are a few. The Palatinate was the centre of a deadly conflict between the Protestant German states and France during the late seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries. Between 1684 and 1713 there were two wars, the War of the Grand Alliance of England, Holland and the German Protestant States against France, and the War of the Spanich Succession. The War of the Spanish Succession resulted from the death of Charles II of Spain without an heir. Except for four years of relative peace there was almost continuous war between 1684 and 1713. The troops of the French King Louis XIV ravaged the Palatinate, sacking the major cities, burning homes, stealing property, massacring people, destroying crops and laying waste to farms. An unexpected cold winter then occurred in 1709. The people had enough and began to leave even though forbidden to do so upon pain of death by the rulers of the Palatinates. The Palatines fled down the Rhine to Rotterdam, Holland and then to England. The British Government circulated the “Golden Book” which was written by Reverend Kockerthal, throughout the Palantinate. It described British America as the Land of milk and honey.

The Professors Final Thoughts:

I have been extremely troubled by the fact that both Mr. and Mrs. Ulrich Tanner died in 1700; a child was born in 1700 with no further notes; & their other son, Samuel died in 1697.
It seems Michael (1696 – 1782) & his brother Hans Jacob (1698- 1771)Tanner/Danner were the only ones that survived.
Could it be that is just how it is? Or did something else happen.
I began a research to find out what this Palatine meant–it was noted that Michael Danner was among the German Palatines aboard the John Goodman Ship when they migrated to American in 1727. It seems possible to me that the Tanner family members were possibly among the massacred people of this area as it is described.”

…. Could it be true this professor was talking about my 7tth and 6th paternal great grandfathers? As I plugged in the information from this article into my geology family tree as “Tanner” it took me back another seven generations and here is what this one article helped me find

Sebastian Tanner (1489 – ) is my 13th great-grandfather

Johann Jakob Tanner (1510 – 1571) is my 12th great-grandfather son of Sebastian Tanner

MICHAEL TANNER (1536 – ) is my 11th great-grandfather son of Johann Jakob Tanner

Hans Tanner (1566 – ) is my 10th great-grandfather son of MICHAEL TANNER

Ulrich Jakob Tanner (1600 – ) is my 9th great-grandfather son of Hans Tanner

Ulrich Peter Tanner/Danner (1638 – 1693) is my 8th great-grandfather son of Ulrich Jakob Tanner

Ulrich Tanner/Danner (1667 – 1700) is my 7th great-grandfather son of Ulrich Peter Tanner/Danner

Michael Danner (1696 – 1782) is my 6th great-grandfather son of Ulrich Tanner/Danner

The problem I have now is in the mist of doing the research on another geology site I use I found the following conflicting information …

Bernhart Danner (1570 – ) is my 10th great-grandfather

Peter Danner (1601 – ) son of Bernhart Danner, and is 9th great-grandfather)

ULRICH TANNER I (1639 – 1693) son of Peter Danner, and is my 8th great-grandfather)

Ulrich Danner (1667 – 1700) son of ULRICH TANNER I, and is my 7th great-grandfather

Michael Danner (1696 – 1782) son of Ulrich Danner, and is my 6th great-grandfather

Both of the geology sites I am using have different names and dates, but neither have any documents to prove or disprove which one is correct and which one is not. That time period in that area has little records that survived the many wars that have accrued there.

So my geologist blogging friends, here is my question for the week.

When you find conflicting data, with neither being able to verify with records, how do you go about finding the proof you need; or knowing which one to follow?

I try to keep an open mind, and follow all leads as I find them to see where they might take me. But, why is it when I open one door in my “Family” search I end up with more questions than the one I was attempting to solve?

One thought on “You Never Know What Family Information will show up in the less liken places …

Leave a Reply

