TO ALL My Family Who Served our Country with Honor in Any Branch of the Service ~ THANK –YOU


I want to honor all my family who are now serving or ever did serve in any branch of our military. I am grateful for all you gave to allow our way of life to be based on Freedom and Peace. My family is large and has a rich military history, as I started to gather up the names of all my family who served in the military I soon realized it was a much bigger project than I could do justice to. I also was afraid that even though I would not mean to, I most likely would leave someone name off the list. So instead of listing every military family member names I will proudly say that our family has many who have served in all branches of the Military, and in all the conflicts in America’s history from the Revolution War to some serving active duty now.

Our family’s military history has not been with just American history, the more I have learned about my family’s military experiences the more amazed I became. I am proud to say there has been many in my family who played key roles in many major world conflict throughout much of our recorded history.

There is the two Tanner brothers (later change the family surname to Danner) Michael Danner (1696 – 1782) (my paternal 6th great-grandfather) and Hans Jacob Danner (1698 – 1771) who were the sole survivors of their entire family. There had been many generations who were military soldiers who fought in the Switzerland and Germany area during a period in history we now call the “Christian Crusades”.There were many Kingdoms that were battling for more power and land to increase their wealth.

There is King Harald III of Norway Sigurdsson (1015- 1066) my paternal 27th great-grandfather. Harald was the last great Viking king of Norway and his invasion of England and death at the Battle of Stamford Bridge in 1066 proved a true turning point in history. It marked the end of the Viking age and beginning of the High Middle Ages.

There is Ithon ap Cymryw, King In Briton “ap Camber” Ap Perdur (1050 BC -) my paternal 95th great-grandfather. Here is what is said of him from the Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia; “Camber (Cymryw) Dux Cambria & Cornwall Kamber was a legendary king of Kambria as accounted by Geoffrey of Monmouth. He was the son of Brutus and a descendent of Aeneas of Troy. Upon his father’s death, he was given the region called Kambria after himself. This area corresponds roughly to present-day Wales. He aided his brother, Locrinus in the defeat of Humber, King of the Huns, which was an act of revenge for Humber’s murder of Albanactus, their younger brother.”

There is Dardanus Darda King of Dardania TROY, Birth 1470BC in BC in Samothrace, Thrace, near Marmara Sea, Turkey, and Death 1414 in BC in Rameses, Goshen, Egypt; he is my paternal 105th great-grandfather. Here is what I was able to learn about Dardanus; “One of the sons of Zerah (the scarlet thread) was Dara or Darda or Dardanus as called by the first century historian Josephus, or Darius as referred to in various Trojan genealogies. Darda is accredited as the founder of the city of Troy. Darda’s descendants never entered the Promised Land or took part in the Exodus of the Israelites. Apparently they left Egypt within those 400 years before there arose up a new king over Egypt. He was involves in the “Trojan wars”.

Then there is King David Israel, Birth 1063 in Bethlehem, Judah, Israel and Death 1015 in Yerushalayim, Israel/Jerusalem, Judah, Israel; he is my paternal 108th great-grandfather. I really don’t need to go into much detail as to what a Military warrior King David was.

I am proud and honored to be part of this family with so many Military warriors. Thanks for all who served with honor. An extra depth of gratitude to the ones who “gave their all” in the quest for peace and freedom.

While this is still very much a work in progress, I would like to end with sharing the “Military” page I am creating to honor my Father, Donald Barrett Danner who served our country with honor in the US Marine Corps, and is still serving in his local area with their Veterans events and in his community to do what he can at 84 to keep America strong and the land of the Brave.

My Father ~ Donald Barrett Danner ~ Staff Sergeant US Marine Corps ~
http://trees.ancestry.com/view/Military.aspx?tid=46411409&pid=6533441987&vid=69b34af4-252a-4687-8578-b55007605f0c

Leave a comment